Heartbreaking and Agonizing! Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted 10 January, 2014 by Danny in Blog, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 22 Comments

Heartbreaking and Agonizing! Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited

by Sophie Jordan (Website, Facebook, Twitter)
Series: Uninvited #1
Published by Harper Collins, Harper Teen on January 28th 2013
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonGoodreads
4.5 Stars
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Sophie Jordan is know to write wonderful romances and has often some super unique story lines with the Firelight series being definitely a Paranormal YA that stood out. Now, the premise of Uninvited promised to be an exciting read, I didn’t want to miss!

We’re Just The Sum of our Genes?

The future painted in Uninvited is horrible. Scientists found a gene that apparently is responsible for being violent and becoming a killer one day. People are getting tested and if positive for the Murder Gene removed from society, caged and forced into camps. While it would be wonderful to feel save, thinking about this alone makes me shiver. Many people wonder if truly just one gene will turn innocent childs into a murder one day? It#s hard to believe yet scientists found apparently proof enough for the government to act.

And, I loved how Jordan the sweet sweet Davy to picture this future for us even more vividly and what it all in the end entails.

Sweet, Innocent Davy –  A Murderer? Like Really?

We couldn’t have wished for a better heroine for this story. Davy is a musical protigee , has  a soft nature and comes from a wealthy good background. Nothing and No one would have guessed her to be the carrier of the Murder Gene, yet she was tested positive and her life changed after this. Being in Davys head, it’s so damn hard for us to put this soft girl in one room with truly violent people, and again this makes her perfect to paint the perfect picture of the true horrific happenings in this world.

After the first schlock, her life changes slowly. People and friends are just looking weird, but then suddenly everything just seems to start boiling and then she looses all her friends and her dumbass of a boyfriend finally dumps her.

Even worse, she’s then tattooed, marked and then thrown into a room full of positive Teenagers, shut away from the “normal” kids! This is when the horrific story for Davy trull begins.

Heartbreaking Moments in an Agonizing Environment

Seriously, my heart broke over and over and over and over again. What Davy had to endure was horrible, shocking and appalling.  They way she was suddenly an outcast without having done a singly bad thing in her life blowed my mind. But then, there was Sean – Oh Sean our savior! Sean is also a carrier and she meets him  when thrusted in the new school which is nothing less than a cage for these kids.

And Sean is dark, edgy and dark ass, yet never against Davy and he seems to have a great feeling of wrong and right. Yet again, we ask ourselves if this boy really would be a murder when he’s so protective of Sam? Sean was amazing and awesome and I feel in love with him easily. Bad Ass with lots of attitude but with a good heart, that’s the boy we want for Davy!

Slow Climbing and Thickening Plot Development

In the beginning the plot moves slowly getting used to the basics of the world outlaid for us. But it gets more dangerous and gruesome with each page we turn and the plot thickens quickly becoming more complex, terrifying yet thrilling.

Bewitched Rating

Rating 4.5

Bottom Line

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan tells a horrific tale and paints a disturbing future where only your genes will be the judge of your character. It was heartbreaking and so tragic to see sweet Davy’s life change to dramatically. But with badass Sean in the picture, we finally gained saw hope at the end of the tunnel and the end of the book left us with the desperate hope for Sean and Davy to be happy and escape this horrible environment!

 

 scifithriller 

Danny_Signature_muchloveI
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider

22 Responses to “Heartbreaking and Agonizing! Uninvited by Sophie Jordan”

  1. YAY!!!! I absolutely loved this one too Danny! Shocking that we would be on the same page, I know:) I just felt so bad for Davy throughout, and I love how much this one made me think and ask myself tricky questions. And Sean. Don’t even get me started on him. *falls head over heels in love*

  2. Um so this sounds amazing! I do like Jordan’s books so now I’m even more excited for this one because it sounds like a gritty story and I’m in a huge dystopian/gritty feeling books mood lately.

    Thanks for the great review!
    Alexa recently posted..All You Need is KillMy Profile

    • See, this is why I thought it was such a great idea to let Davy be a Musician and she really was a sensible soul and her then being killer one day? Poor Girl!

  3. Can’t wait to read this one! Sounds so great. A little like that dystopian where they take a test and get sent to an island to try to survive because they have some kind of gene. But this one sounds much more frightening. I think I can see me living in Davy’s mind as she gets subjected to this horror. Not that I’m a musical protoge, but I’m sensitive and such a softee. I can’t wait.

    Great review!!
    Heather @ Buried in Books recently posted..E. J. Wesley’s Winter Thrills and Chills Tour “With Friends Like These….” Character ReviewMy Profile

  4. This made me more excited to read the book. I like how you mentioned the contrast between the main character and the possibility of her being a murderer. It’s a little crazy to think, especially if it was just a genetic defect. It’s not like she has a mental defect that could make her so, right? I’d love to see how Davy would handle her situation. Also, the cover is just gorgeous.
    Francine Soleil recently posted..Weekly Wrapup: January 5-10My Profile

  5. I think I keep mixing up Lauren Oliver’s Panic with this book. The covers are pretty similar at a quick glance xD But now that I look closer, I can see the differences. I love how the DNA strands are woven into her hair! That’s some creative design right there.

    I love books about free will and genetics, so this is right up my alley. Definitely buying this one when it’s released!
    Kayla @ The Thousand Lives recently posted..How’s Life? Let’s Catch Up!My Profile

  6. I’m so happy to see other people loving this book too! My heart broke over and over too. It was so sad how someone as sheltered and sweet as Davy has to endure such a tragic turn in her life. But I really loved watching her become stronger for it, especially with the help of yummy bad boy Sean 😉 I really want to know more about his past…how did he get the Mark?? The next book is going to be sooo interesting!!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge