Consumption by Heather Herrman

Posted 9 June, 2015 by Heather in Blog, Book Review, Heather, Heather Book Review / 0 Comments

Consumption by Heather Herrman

Consumption

by Heather Herrman (Website, Facebook, Twitter)
Published by Hydra on May 26, 2015
Genres: Adult, Horror, Psychological Suspense, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: TLC Book Tours
AmazonBook DepositoryGoodreads

I received this book for free from TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

4.5 Stars
For fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Sarah Langan comes a thrilling new vision of American horror. In Heather Herrman’s heart-pounding debut novel, evil is ready to feed—and it’s got one hell of an appetite.

In the wake of tragedy, John and Erma Scott are heading west in search of a new life. So when car trouble strands them in sleepy Cavus, Montana, they decide to stay for a while, charmed by the friendly residents and the surrounding ambiance. Here, they hope, is the healing balm that their marriage needs.

Then John and Erma find themselves in a fight not just to save their marriage, but their very lives. For this is no ordinary town. Its quiet streets conceal a dark and bloody secret that has slumbered for centuries. Now, that secret is awake . . . and it’s hungry.

Like a slow infection, evil is spreading through Cavus. Soon John and Erma—along with the local sheriff, an undocumented immigrant, a traumatized teenage girl, and an old man with terrible secrets of his own—must join together to battle an all-consuming force that has set its sights on its prey: the entire human race.

 

Horror is my go-to genre, and I’ve read so much that it’s hard to find a thing that hasn’t been done to death (pun-intended) or overcooked until it’s mushy and just tastes sub-par on the palate.  Heather Herrman’s debut Consumption is chock full of gore and depravity on a scale that makes sense in a demon-spawned apocalypse novel, and I quite enjoyed the all out war between a ragtag group of strangers who try to fight off this newly reawakened evil that is creating zombie-like minions to spread it’s dominion throughout the world. But first they must conquer small town Cavus, Montana, and it’s land that has been protected over the years by Indian tribes, then a special few strong people who were able to fight off the evil lurker below the soil, just waiting to be awakened when blood is spilled violently.

A Quaint, Picturesque Town To Be Stranded In…

Consumption starts off like a lot of books in the horror genre, with a stalled car stranding a husband, wife, and their dog just outside of Cavus. They’re brought into town by the local police chief to stay the night, unable to get their car repaired or towed due to the town’s Black Squirrel Festival. While the couple takes in the quirky festival, the cop starts to investigate the disappearance of one of his former employees when a woman is found murdered at his home, and that’s just the beginning of the townsfolks’ strange behavior.

It’s Feed or Become Food…

Soon neighbors are tearing apart each other and feeding on their flesh. The infected seem to have a hive mind linked to the one who came from below, and he has a master plan that includes making as many children as possible and taking over the world. I really liked that you couldn’t really tell who was infected at first, and the author did a great job of making you really suspect and question who was acting weird and why–and totally surprising you with the reveal.

I give Consumption a 4.5 out of 5. The pacing and tension were perfect throughout, and I just kept turning the pages with this one. Written in third person point of view, you get a peek at quite a few people’s perspectives, but it wasn’t too confusing. I really enjoyed the look at the events in the early 1900s and the Pioneer days so you got an idea of what happened when the evil had awakened before. The level of gore and nastiness that comes from these creatures might not be for everyone, but the characters were well developed and you got a chance to really sympathize with them along the way. Consumption is definitely one of the better horror novels that I’ve read lately.

Check back here on Bewitched Bookworms next Monday (June 15) for a guest post by Heather Herrman on why women should read more horror. There will also be a giveaway opportunity for this Consumption TLC Book Tours tour stop!

Heather_signature

Heather

I’m a PhD chemist who loves sarcasm, music, and books-paranormal, mystery, thriller, suspense, horror, romance, and young adult. Feel free to friend me on any of the social media sites listed. I’d love to connect with you!
Goodreads

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge