The Fire Wish by Amber Lough- The Jinni Wars Book 1

Posted 28 July, 2014 by Danny in Blog, Book Review, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 7 Comments

The Fire Wish by Amber Lough- The Jinni Wars Book 1

The Fire Wish

by Amber Lough (Website, Twitter)
Series: The Jinni Wars #1
Published by Random House, Random House Children's Books on 2014-07-22
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical, Love & Romance, Middle East, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonGoodreads
4 Stars
A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything. . . .

Beautifully written and accessible fantasy for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Laini Taylor.   In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the humans. Zayele is a human on her way to marry a prince of Baghdad—which she’ll do anything to avoid. So she captures Najwa and makes a wish. With a rush of smoke and fire, they fall apart and re-form—as each other. A jinni and a human, trading lives.

Both girls must play their parts among enemies who would kill them if the deception were ever discovered—enemies including the young men Najwa and Zayele are just discovering they might love.

Jinni’s!!! This recent trend is absolutely wonderful and makes me excited! I had a recent feature about Jinni’s with some wonderful images!

Beautiful and wonderful ancient arabic setting!

The story of The Jinni Wars is set in Baghdad way in the past, filled with some fantasy elements creates a very unique an magnificent atmosphere. Humans are at war with the Jinni’s and we are following two girls who look very much a like, but one is human and one is a Jinni – both dream of having a different life!

When the human girl Najwa captures the Jinnie  Zayele, she wishes to trade places and now the must life the others life in fear of being discovered! We get both POV and the story shifts between these two girls and we get glimpses also into both settings, as the Jinni’s have to life underground in a disclosed environment.

Love finds you whether you want it or not!

Even though both girls desperately try to hide who they really are, the find love even though they were not prepared to do so! Both romances were sweet and adorable, but Najwa’s romance came with more chemistry and got me more excited. But, one should keep in mind that there are two stories in one that finally have to melt together. Maybe there was just not enough time to invest enough into both relationships.

Secrets, Political Intrigue and Surprises!

Apart from the beautiful setting, the sweet romance the story also deals with the ancient war between humans and Jinni’s and is just now about to take a turn. Needless to say our girls will play a crucial role in these events.

The story started out a little slow, but picked up towards the middle. I absolutely loved the middle east setting, with all the beautiful woman and henna tattoos – and the Jinni’s world was so beautiful and fantastical. It was a great mix of history and fantasy! There are some twists and surprises that added a whole new level of excitement – and especially one twist was played very nicely and caught me by surprise.

 

Bewitched Rating

 

Bottom Line

The Fire Wish by Amber Lough was a wonderful Young Adult Fantasy story filled with magic, political intrigue and romance. The setting was magnificent with the magical filled arabic world and the story follows two girls, one human and one Jinni who are caught in the middle of an ancient war!

 

    

Do you also love Jinni stories??? I hope there will be more Jinni related stories! 

And don’t miss my Pinterest Inspirational Board which was inspired be The Fire Wish and Exquisite Captive! 

Danny_Signature_muchloveI
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider

7 Responses to “The Fire Wish by Amber Lough- The Jinni Wars Book 1”

  1. Um. How did this one slip by me Danny? It sounds amazing, and I know if you gave it a 4 I’m going to love it as well. I’m loving this Jinni/Djinn trend in YA lately, it makes me as happy as the Greek mythology trend of a couple years ago. I don’t think I’ll tire of it just as I haven’t the mythology books:)

  2. I cannot tell you how thrilled I am that you enjoyed this one!! It’s one of those books that made it’s way to the top of my wishlist and reading about the gorgeous setting, adorable romanceS, magic and JINNIS just made me all the more excited to get my grubby little hands on it xD LOVELY review Danny ^^ xx
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted..ARC Review: The Young WorldMy Profile

  3. I do trust all the concepts you have presented to your post.
    They’re really convincing and will definitely work.
    Still, the posts are very short for novices. Could you please
    lengthen them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the
    post.
    domain recently posted..domainMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge