Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Posted 9 October, 2014 by Danny in Blog, Book Review, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 8 Comments

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Illusions of Fate

by Kiersten White (Website)
Published by Harper Collins, Harper Teen on SeSeptember 9th 2014
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
3 Stars
Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray

I am a big fan of Kiersten White  – I love her style and especially her Paranormalcy Series is one of my favorite Young Adult Paranormal series, so of course I was eager to pick up this new adventure of hers, filled with promises of a magical historical world!

Historical Setting full of Magic and a strong Girl!

Jessamin is a strong willed girl, who leaves her home in order to move to another country/kingdom to go there to school. There, she finds herself suddenly among the Nobles of the town and discovers that magic is indeed real and that the powerful families have all their secrets!

I actually loved the whole idea and setting, full with interesting characters many secrets and of course magic! I just had very much wished for more world building. I had a hard time understanding the politics and settings of this world, which made it often very hard to follow the story as I was often enough left wondering about where we are.

The Magic was a quite interesting and unique approach and followed its own rules, which I would have also loved to explore more.

A delightful heroine and an enigmatic hero!

What I loved most about the book were definitely Jessamin and Finn! I really liked how headstrong she was even if it sometimes was maybe a little too stubborn for her own good! Still, she was a girl who stood up for what she wants even among all these much more powerful and wealthy people! And then there is Finn – who of course is wonderfully secretive which leaves us guessing and wondering about him. Often this makes me even more excited about a story, no matter how cliché that is.  The romance was sweet and fit just rightly into the whole storyline!

 

Bewitched Rating

 

Rating 3

Bottom Line

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White comes with a delightful heroine and an enigmatic hero, and Kiersten White again proves that her Characters are always extraordinary and beautifully developed! Sadly, it was lacking a little bit in building and setting the world and the basics of the magic, which left me a few times a little lost. However altogether a great read!

 

 historical  

Are you a fan of Kiersten White? Which books do you love most? And.. I adore the cover, but what would you might want to pick up the book?

Danny_Signature_muchloveI
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Divider

8 Responses to “Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White”

  1. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s
    to be just what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome web site!
    Dermajuvenate recently posted..DermajuvenateMy Profile

  2. Great weblog here! Additionally your web site rather a
    lot up fast! What host are you the use of?
    Can I am getting your associate link to your host?
    I want my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol
    Review recently posted..ReviewMy Profile

  3. This allows certain juices to be stored for up to 48 hours in a refrigerator with minimal loss of nutritional value.
    Also, it is important to check if there are replacement batteries still being sold.

    Old railway sleepers or second-hand bricks both make excellent edging; they are relatively inexpensive, are hardwearing and can be
    used again and again if you decide to change the layout of your
    nursery bed.
    ตู้คอนเทนเนอร์มือสอง recently posted..ตู้คอนเทนเนอร์มือสองMy Profile

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog.
    You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for
    your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Kudos!
    recharge code for idea sim recently posted..recharge code for idea simMy Profile

  5. Sigh, lack of world-building is one of my most common complaints! I’m sorry that this one was a bit lacking in that area BUT I am pleased that you managed to enjoy this one a great deal despite that! I still haven’t read anything by Kiersten White myself, but most of her books are on my tbr shelf (including this one) The combination of magic, the historical setting and such a strong heroine have me thinking I’ll have fun with this one too 😀 Thanks for another lovely and insightful review Danny ^^
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews recently posted..Review: Words of RadianceMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge