In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch Weeks

(You’re welcome to grab and use our Button, just please link back to us)
Weekly meme from The Story Siren. The idea is to post the books you got this week, whether you bought them, got them as a gift, from the library, or received them to review.

Hi, everyone! Since Danny is flying home from her awesome weeks of vacation in the sun, we’re switching spots for IMM this week. Luckily, I have several books for you guys (All links for books and authors are to Goodreads, descriptions are from Amazon, click the book covers to go to the Amazon.com page for the book)


I received a review copy of The New Hunger, Isaac Marion’s prequel to Warm Bodies.

New York is a bayou. New Orleans is a reef. The entire country has been devastated by natural disasters and governmental collapse, and on top of everything else there is the annoying problem of zombies trying to devour you at every turn. But for sixteen-year-old Nora and her younger brother Addis, they are about to discover the most frightening thing yet: being abandoned in this horrific world by their own parents.
Left with only a bag of clothes and a first-aid kit, Nora and Addis begin a harrowing journey to connect with anyone who isn’t looking to rob them or eat them.  A wounded man wrecks a meal of green beans and French fries at the top of the Space Needle in Seattle. An attempt to get a good night’s sleep in a fortified motel is ruined by an undead face staring at them through the window. And they just can’t seem to shake someone – something – that’s been following them everywhere they go….
Meanwhile, traveling toward the city with her parents is a young girl named Julie. She is only twelve, but has already seen friends die and her school burn.  She has watched her father become nearly as cold and remorseless as the Dead. All she wants is someplace to call home, even if it never really will be.
Isaac Marion once again demonstrates his remarkable ability as a storyteller as he brings the world of WARM BODIES back to life. Grounding his characters in real emotion, Marion makes you root for them to save the world even as they simply try to stay alive.

Zola Books will exclusively publish this e-book prequel to Warm Bodies on January 28, 2013. I’ve read it already, and as a fan of Warm Bodies, I really enjoyed this novella on how zombie R began, Julie traveled to Washington with her parents, and the world went to hell in a hand basket. Look for my full review on January 23.

I preordered Beth Revis’ third and final installment in the Across the Universe series, Shades of Earth.shades of earth

The final book in the  New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed‘s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.

I’ve been waiting for this final book, and it came in the mail Tuesday. I cracked the cover Wednesday morning and finished up on Thursday because, you know, I had important things to do…like work, sleep, and take care of the almost four year old. But this book is amazing. I’m not going to spoil it at all, but Pushy’s going to listen to the audiobook version and we’ll review it soon. Awesome YA scifi series.

 

 

Finally, I bought Something Like Normal by Trish Doller.somethinglikenormal

When Travis returns home from a stint in Afghanistan, his parents are splitting up, his brother’s stolen his girlfriend and his car, and he’s haunted by nightmares of his best friend’s death. It’s not until Travis runs into Harper, a girl he’s had a rocky relationship with since middle school, that life actually starts looking up. And as he and Harper see more of each other, he begins to pick his way through the minefield of family problems and post-traumatic stress to the possibility of a life that might resemble normal again. Travis’s dry sense of humor, and incredible sense of honor, make him an irresistible and eminently lovable hero.

I snagged this one for my Kindle when it was on sale for $1.99. The reviews looked good, and the story sounds even better. It’s been a while since I’ve read something angsty with a male narrator.

What’s in your mailbox this week? Any books that you dug right into as soon as you got them into your hands?

The following two tabs change content below.
I'm the one always buried in my laptop writing or devouring books on my Kindle while on the train during my commute. I'm a PhD chemist who loves sarcasm, music, movies, and books-paranormal, thriller/horror, mystery, young adult. Feel free to friend me on any of the social media sites listed. I'd love to connect with you! Twitter Goodreads Tumblr
Ashley 1/20/2013

You had a FABULOUS week Heather!! I’m so excited to read your guys’ reviews of Shades of Earth! I got that this week too and I’m literally just about to start reading it! I really enjoyed Something Like Normal. I do wish it was a bit longer though.. the book is super short!

Enjoy your week. :)
Ashley recently posted..The Cadet of Tildor by Alex LidellMy Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/20/2013

Oh, Ashley! I hope you like Shades of Earth as much as I did! I can’t wait to review it with Pushy and put our thoughts on it out into the world :) When I saw that Something Like Normal was so short, I knew I would never pay full price for it. That’s why I snagged it when it was $1.99. Hope your week goes well!
Heather recently posted..In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch WeeksMy Profile

Reply »

Great haul, Heather! Shades of Earth has featured in a lot of people’s mailbox posts today. I still need to read the second book! I will have to grab that Warm Bodies prequel too when I can. Hope you enjoy your new books. :)
Sam @ Realm of Fiction recently posted..Showcase Sunday (#18)My Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/20/2013

I’m sure there’s a ton of us that got Shades of Earth, lol. It such a great series! Now that the final book is out, you can read the second and third books without having to wait a year in between like I did!

The Warm Bodies prequel is being sold exclusively through Zola Books as an e-book, and it was really good.
Heather recently posted..In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch WeeksMy Profile

Reply »

Mary @ BookSwarm 1/20/2013

I just finished Shades of Earth yesterday — a great ending to a great series! Cool that Warm Bodies has a prequel (though, of course, I still need to read that first one…). Happy reading!
Mary @ BookSwarm recently posted..My brain, she is squishy. Read-a-thon, ho!My Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/20/2013

I’m glad you liked Shades of Earth too! There was no way I was going to let that one sit in my TBR pile without picking it up right away. I had to know how it ended.

You still haven’t read Warm Bodies? Hmm, since Isaac Marion’s writing a sequel right now and the movie’s about to come out on February 1, you might want to get on that! If you like zombies in anyway, at least. This was a great book, and I can’t wait for the movie. Too bad it comes out on my hubs b-day and he wants a bowling birthday party instead of going to see the movie. What a party pooper, LOL.
Heather recently posted..In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch WeeksMy Profile

Reply »

Stina Lindenblatt 1/20/2013

I read SLN when it first came out and loved it. Enjoy!

Reply »

Heather 1/20/2013

Another vote for how awesome SLN is! I don’t think I’ll regret the two bucks I spent.
Heather recently posted..In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch WeeksMy Profile

Reply »

Melissa 1/20/2013

I so need Shades of Earth! Glad you loved it!!
Melissa recently posted..Added to the Bookshelf – 1/20/13My Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/20/2013

You definitely need to get SoE, Melissa! It was such a great ending to the series, and there’s some seriously messed up stuff happening on Centauri-Earth! I loved every word of it!
Heather recently posted..In My Mailbox – Heather and Danny Switch WeeksMy Profile

Reply »

Oooh, I didn’t know there was a prequel to Warm Bodies. Hope you enjoy Shaddes of Earth and Something Like Normal. Happy reading.

Jenea @ Books Live Forever
Jenea @ Books Live Forever recently posted..Early Review for Hysteria by Megan MirandaMy Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/24/2013

I didn’t know about the Warm Bodies prequel until I was approached to review it, and boy did I snatch that up real quick! Shades of Earth was amazing, and Pushy and I will be posting a joint review soon. Something Like Normal is a pretty short book so I should be able to read that pretty quickly. Hope it’s as good as everyone says it is.
Heather recently posted..Novella Review: The New Hunger by Isaac MarionMy Profile

Reply »

Krystianna 1/21/2013

I recently re-read Across the Universe and I read A Million SUns for the first time last week. They were so amazing! I couldn’t believe that I liked the second one even more than the first. I can’t wait until I finally get my hands on a copy of Shades of Earth. I really hope you enjoy everything!

Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian
Krystianna recently posted..Stacking the Shelves (14)My Profile

Reply »

Heather 1/24/2013

I liked Shades of Earth better than the first two in the series. But overall, this was an amazing scifi series! I hope you enjoy the third book as much as I did :)
Heather recently posted..Novella Review: The New Hunger by Isaac MarionMy Profile

Reply »

Leave a Comment





CommentLuv badge

Archive

Bewitched BookwormsBewitched BookwormsBewitched BookwormsBewitched BookwormsBewitched BookwormsBewitched BookwormsBewitched Bookworms

Danny is Currently Reading

Nothing at the moment!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other subscribers

Book Badges

Bewitched Bookworms

Bewitched Bookworms

Disclaimer

The owner(s) of this blog are not compensated to provide opinion on the books, literature, websites, and/or various other topics that we review. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are purely the blog owners.
Meta