Book Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand (Sequel to Unearthly)

Posted 17 January, 2012 by Danny in Blog, Danny, Danny's Book Review, Featured, Uncategorized / 16 Comments

Hallowed by Cynthia Hand coverHallowed

by Cynthia Hand
Book II in Unearthly series
Genre: YA paranormal (angels)
publication: January 17th 2012 by HarperCollins
copy received from publisher
Get your own:amazon (Hardcover, Kindle)
synopsis from goodreads

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike

Oh my… Oh My!!! I read Unearthly early last year and… I loved it. I do love angel stories so this was a must read for me. Then, when it was time to read the sequel Unearthly I was a little scared since often sequels do not live up to it’s previous hype! But, I was wrong! So wrong….

Getting back to meet Cara, Tucker, Christian and the others.

Although it is often hard to get back into a story specially after nearly a year in between. But, Cynthia Hand made it so easy to reconnect with the cast. I instantly felt for Cara including everything she has to face. And who couldn’t love Tucker, Cara’s oh so sweet boyfriend and then there is Christian. Christian was rather dull for me in Unearthly, but  in Hallowed he definitely gets more “screen time” including a much better developed character. Indeed, all characters developed matured and new levels of their characters was introduced to us in Hallowed.

Twist Turns and Never Ever Boring!

What I found most exiting about Hallowed was the storyline and the direction the plot moved. There are new characters introduced which were incredible and added perfectly to the already wonderful cast. There is so much happening in Hallowed that you barely have time to catch a breath. Also there are so many surprises coming up that I didn’t foresee and I was happily stunned with these new turns. All in all the plot was a true page turner, once I started reading there was no way for me to put it down, I needed to know more!

Heartbreak, Tears and Emotions

Those who know me also know that I’m a sucker for strong emotions in a story. I love to cry, yes I guess I’m masochistic that way – but when an author manages to make you cry she definitely did something right. In Hallowed were tons of emotions, good ones and bad ones. Heartbreak and Joy – although more heartbreak I admit. Cara has to face a lot in Hallowed and it’s admirable that she doesn’t break, she really developed in Hallowed and showed a lot of strength. Then there is the Love Triangle between Angel Christian and Farmerboy Tucker and Cara who has to choose and decided between  fate, hope and true love. I admit, I love both boys a lot. While Tucker was the boy I gave my heart to in Unearthly, Christian now easily caught up. Christian is the most surprising character in Hallowed and I loved him so much! (I even tempt to switch teams my friends…)

Bottom Line

A phenomenal and emotional sequel to Unearthly that not wonderful catches up where it left us in Unearthly but also delivers a plot with lot’s of twist, turns and new directions. Cara is a wonderful strong heroine who at the same time is so

vulnerable it breaks your heart. Hallowed will make you cry, but it will be worth it…

Random Notes and Addition Info: There is a giveaway running right now where you can win a copy of Hallowed! Please follow the link to enter! And if you are new to this series, then you should consider picking up the first book Unearthly which is right now available for $0.99 at amazon!!! This is a deal you shouldn’t pass on, click on the image on the right to get to amazon. And, Hallowed is on Blog Tour right now and just yesterday I found a guest post from Cynthia Hand where she talks about her dream cast at Daisy Chain Book Reviews.

Oh and Happy Book birthday to Hallowed because it just comes out Today!!! Woot!

Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

16 Responses to “Book Review: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand (Sequel to Unearthly)”

  1. OMG!!! Im an Angel fan with all the power of my heart and I cant wait to read this one! Im so glad you loved it so much! wonderful review my dear! love it!!!
    Holy COw! I easily cry with books and I'll probably finish a full kleenex box when I read this book. I want it now!!!

    Dazzling Reads

  2. YEAH!!!! Loved this one so much! I love to cry too, you're not alone. Not sure what that says about us, but it definitely means the author is doing something right, and there's nothing I love more than getting all emotionally involved with fictional characters:)
    My recent post Tempting Tuesdays: Chapters 9-12

  3. Annette

    No way I can pick a team — they are both worthy….and…I don't cry very often, but this one got me! Great review. I really enjoyed this one — I just wish the next one was here already!!

  4. Glad to hear the sequel was good – I was worried too that it would end up badly. Christian was also kinds bland to me in the first book so it's good to know his character improves in Hallowed!

  5. Danny- I no I may be the only one, but I cannot seem to get into Unearthly. I'm bored. It's so slow to me. I tried over Christmas when I wasn't blogging and had plenty of time, it put me to sleep! I'll try again at another time because I know everyone loved it, but I just couldn't get into it. All that to say, Hallowed is not on my list at this point, so I didn't read your review, just in case I do finally read Unearthly, I'm sure there are things in there I shouldn't know.

    Heather
    My recent post WOW-Waiting on Wednesday

    • Hehe!!! Then this book is simply not for you. If you are bored then just move on. I know how it feels if you want to like a book because so many others loved it and then.. you just ..don't!!!!!

      And, just move one if you didn't get into the story. There are so many other awesome books that would get you excited :))

      My recent post Totally sidetracked

  6. I'm so freaking excited to have Unearthly and to pick it up. It sounds awesome and I'm so glad you liked this one so much too! You just made me even more excited to start this series, if possible. Lol. As always, awesome review!
    My recent post Stop SOPA!

  7. I'm so excited for this book!! I loved the first one so much and I've heard such good things about Hallowed now. You're considering switching sides?! Oh my, Christian must be AWESOME in Hallowed 🙂

    I totally agree with you about authors making me cry. I automatically add stars if an author can wrangle an emotion response like that from me.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge