Mystic City by Theo Lawrence – Review

Posted 11 October, 2012 by Danny in Blog, Danny, Danny's Book Review, Featured / 25 Comments

Mystic City

Book I  in Mystic City series
Genre: YA, Dystopian, SciFi, Paranormal
Publication: October 9th 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Copy from publisher
Rating:
 

Mystic City by Theo Lawrence on goodreads:

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City’s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents’ sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn’t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can’t conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  (

 

Mystic City draws you in with an incredible cover and the promise of a colorful blend of genres. However, the initial promise of Matched, Hunger Games, X Men and Blade Runner is misleading! I would rather say: Dystopia, Romeo & Juliet and Harry Potter! .. Hu you say?  Wait and see…

 

Colorful Blend of genres!

The story is set in a Dystopia world long in the future when see level is about to raise and destroy cities. Together with SciFi and magic elements with have a mix that will appeal to many different readers! Even more, instead of shouting out “Matched and Hunger Games” I would point out that this story absolutely have strong elements from Romeo and Julie and the magic from Harry Potter!

Living for the powerful and rich is way above the city of New York in the so called Aeries and this is where Aria grew up, oblivious to the danger and poorness surrounding her deep down below in the old remains of the city. This is where the rebellion takes place and this is where the magically blessed or cursed have to life.

Aria

She’s our typical dystopia heroine, oblivious to the real world around her, since she’s grown up having everything she always wished. But, slowly her mind awakes and she begins to see more clearly what is wrong with their world and she slowly begins to questions her fathers actions. Falling in love with a boy from the Rebellion and a magic user isn’t helping her conflicted state.

 

Mysteries, Magic, Politics and Love!

The mystery behind Aria’s lost of memory was something intriguingly fascinating, especially combined with the politics and exploring this world and basics! The love story between Aria and Hunter perfectly reminded of Romeo and Juliet – a forbidden love with between 2 strong families to different in their political views that there is no way for them to be ever together. There is even a balcony involved! I would even go so far in saying that this could easily be a retelling (and I hope I do not insult the author as I genuinely enjoyed this a lot)!

I absolutely adored the way the magic was handled here and I found it a wonderfully and surprising addition to this plot. Some of the spells reminded of Harry Potter spells and there was even a flying bike! I had to smile at this! Truly, the magic was … well, magical!

Love letters that ….felt off…

While Aria tries to regain her memories she found love letters, yet she has no idea who wrote that! The letters were very romantic and full of love and passion! However, when we realize who those letters wrote it immediately felt off… The way the lover speaks in real is nothing like those letters! It just didn’t fit at all!!! It was very confusing and felt totally wrong!

Bewitched Rating

 

Bottom Line

Mystic City is a powerful debut with a delightful blend of genres and in my opinion a creative re-telling of Romeo and Juliet! Love, Politics, Magic, SciFI and Dystopia everything your genre heart desires is easily found in this great debut into a new series! I am excited to find out more and await eagerly the new book!

 

    

Book Trailer

Seriously, the trailer is awesome and .. Hunter is absolutely and perfectly the way I picture him!!!

Much Love,

And now : Enter The Fall Clearing

Hardcover of Divergent by Veronica Ross

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

25 Responses to “Mystic City by Theo Lawrence – Review”

  1. Hi!!!!!! OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG It’s so nice to meet you!!!!!! Haha sorry I’ve just heard so many great things about you and your blog and I told myself it’s time I plucked up the courage to comment on your fabulous blog. 😛 Lovely review! This book seems so good and I’ve been really getting into Dystopians lately so this should be right up my alley. 😉 Aaaah I’m such a sucker for Romeo and Juliet!!!! :’) Thanks for a great review, Danny! <3 It was really nice to meet you! xx

    Riya
    Riya recently posted..Happily Ever After • Giveaway HopMy Profile

    • Seriously, if you could see me right now you would see me blushing!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for coming here and stopping by our little Blog :)) And I LOVE comments, so thank you tons for taking your time to comment today! *hugs*

      Oh and Mystic City is awesome! it’s not straight Dysstopian and the focus is more on the love story and the politics. But, I especially loved this blend of genres!:))
      Danny recently posted..Mystic City by Theo Lawrence – ReviewMy Profile

  2. Since I live under a rock lately I haven’t really heard much about this one, aside from loving the cover!

    I’m so curious about the letters concept, but am bummed it wasn’t as awesome as it could be…Boo! I’m happy you loved the book though…I can’t wait to give it a try!
    Amanda @ Letters Inside Out recently posted..Survey Time at LIOMy Profile

  3. This sounds really neat! I love the addition of sci fi in dystopians, and the magic sounds very unique too I don’t think I’ve read a dystopian quite like that. Great review, Danny! I’m curious about those love letters! >.<

  4. I love us Danny. Our review always go up within days of each other and we have pretty much the same reactions:):) I adored the magic aspect of this one too, and of course the forbidden love. You know I live for forbidden love. I need book 2 in my hands right this minute, that was a heck of an ending!

  5. I loved this book! I’m with you that they were a but misleading in comparing it. Romeo and Juliet with a bit of Harry Potter would be a much better comparison!
    I didn’t notice anything off about those letters, I feel I should go reread them. I just figured their relationship had been so progressed that they were more forthcoming with their feelings.
    So glad you enjoyed it too!
    Candace recently posted..Review: There Comes a Prophet by David LitwackMy Profile

  6. Yay I love the sound of this! Forbidden love, ‘magical magic’ and a dystopian world? YES! This sounds fantastic and I’m even more excited to read it!
    Great review Danny ^.^

  7. I’m really glad that you felt like this is very closely related to Romeo & Juliet as well. While reading this there was no doubt for me that Mystic City is either based on it or even a retelling – but then I re-read the synopsis and there was no mention of Romeo & Juliet, which slightly confused me.
    But I’m happy that you enjoyed it, too. I can’t wait for the next book!
    Carina @ Fictional Distraction recently posted..New Distractions #14My Profile

  8. Love this book!!!
    When renegrade heart comes out im definately buying and reading it.
    I definately reccomend reading this book!!
    For all the people that has read the reviews that say its like a romeo and juliet story, well sorry to disappoint you guys but..
    IT’S NOT TRUE, IT IS NOTHING LIKE A ROMEO AND JULIET!!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge