Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Posted 23 July, 2015 by Danny in Blog, Book Review, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 3 Comments

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Between Us and the Moon

by Rebecca Maizel (Website)
Published by HarperCollins on 2015-06-30
Genres: Dating & Sex, Love & Romance, Peer Pressure, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
AmazonGoodreads
4 Stars
A luminous young adult novel that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.

I start by saying how much I loved this book and … that I am pretty sure this book will polarize, with people loving it and people hating every aspect of it..

Let’s discuss.. 🙂

Geek? Siren? Girly? Queen Bee?

Who are you? Do you know who you are? Well, I guess most of us know now, but did we know this when we were 15? I’d say no, we didn’t and this is where Bean comes in. Science Geek (who actually is super cute like she is) decides that she should try more to be like her older sister, who is strong beautiful confident and who every boy loves! So Bean performs a summer experiment, where she wears her sisters clothes and basically tries to be more like her and less like herself.

Have you lied when you were 15?

Oh yes, sure as hell I did! About something as important and profound as your age? Yes, sure! However, when Andrew an adorable (!!) 19-year-old boy falls for Bean, she begins to lie.. About her age.. In order to be with Andrew she tells him she’s older and of course this is just the beginning of many many lies…

I am sure that many people will be appealed by Bean and her lies, but I somehow understood and could follow her line of thoughts and yes, as much as I loved her it was a little easier to forgive her. of course, it was not right …

Does Age really matter?

Coming to the most burning question, is it so very wrong? A 16-year-old and a 19-year-old? My opinion is clear on this, even though I am also sure not everyone agrees, I don’t mind the age difference at all – sometimes a 16-year-old girl is mature enough to have a relationship with a 19-year-old. Yes, the society dictates that this is wrong, but I just don’t see it that way..

I really loved Andrew and Bean – they were perfect (!!) for each other, they matched and they were cute – so I didn’t see the harm.

When the ending of a story leaves you angry!

As much as I loved this book – the ending nearly ruined it for me! You know this feeling when you finish a book and all you want to do is throw it in a corner? Well, with my Kindle I couldn’t do this… but you get the picture! But as realistic the ending might be, it made me furious.. so be prepared!

 

Bewitched Rating

Bottom Line

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel was a wonderful, sweet honest and polarizing YA story that I completely loved up until the very end! It leaves lots of room for discussion, interpretation and for strong different options – which was yet another aspect I really loved

 

 contemporary 

So what about you? A 16-year-old with a 19-year-old? Ok? Or not so much? Have you read  Between Us and the Moon ? What do you think?

Danny_Signature_muchloveI
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , ,

Divider

3 Responses to “Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel”

  1. I’m excited to read this book! Usually characters lying about their age really turns me off a book but I’m still looking forward to reading Between Us and the Moon. I’ve with you on the age thing here – I don’t think 16 and 19 is too big of a difference, as long as it’s all legal, etc. Aah, I hate endings like that!! Now I’m kind of worried about what’s going to happen… Anyway, nice review!
    Zareena @ The Slanted Bookshelf recently posted..Review: At Any Turn by Brenna AubreyMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge