I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Posted 1 September, 2014 by Danny in Blog, Book Review, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 4 Comments

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun

by Jandy Nelson (Website, Twitter)
Published by Dial Books on 2014-09-16
Genres: Death & Dying, Family, Love & Romance, Siblings, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
AmazonGoodreads
5 Stars
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Sometimes you come across a book that is just special. That will make you feel all kinds of things that is just memorable. I’ll Give You the Sun is such a book and every buzz about this book is so true!

Most unique & brilliant way of storytelling!

Noah and Jude are Twins, that when they were kids were inseparable, close and so similar. But when teenage hormones hit, they start to change and grow slowly apart. Both are unique kids, both heavily artistic each in their own way and supported by a quirky just as artistic mother.

Then something happened when they were 14 that completely broke them apart, and I’ll Give You the Sun tells their story.

And Jandy Nelson decided to tell this story in such a unique and brilliant way! Noah tells the story leading up to what happened when he’s still 14 and Jude tells the story following the big outbreak when she’s 16. And it’s written so brilliantly, it feels like the timeline is moving on constantly even though more than 2 years are in between. I didn’t expect this to work so wonderful, but it did!

Such unique kids! So sensible, so full of quirks yet somehow so lost without each other!

I absolutely adore both Noah and Jude for both for their different reasons. It#s been amazing to get to know these two better. Yet, the kids at 14 are not same kids with 16 anymore, and it’s actually a little painful to see theta they have changed so much.

Noah with 14 is so closed up and so looked up in his world where he brings all his emotions into drawings and sketches. He has not many friends, he’s afraid to make friends and he’s just discovering something about himself that got him all confused. I guess it’s not much of a secret that Noah is gay, and just is discovering what this means for him. It makes it even worse that Jude completely develops into a different direction. Being all kinds of having out with the cool crowd.

So while Noah is closed off with 14, with 16 he’s what Jude is with 14 and vice verse. Yet, it feels so wrong that they both have changed – it’s quite heartbreaking to see!

Such beautiful, lyrical writing – picturing such a heartbreaking story!

The writing was so captivating and moving and I could never put this story down. There are so many feelings between these pages and the story is just amazingly touching! Jandy Nelson also bring the artistic talents of Jude and Noah onto the pages that everything just feels even more real!!

Noah and Jude share such an incredible bond that it made me tear up seeing them apart, and I was hoping so desperately that they grew back together!

.”. I threw my hands over Noah’s ears to protect him from what I was hearing. My first reaction. Not over my own ears but over Noah’s.”

“Our eyes meet and hold, and the whole world starts to fall away, time does, years rolling up like rugs until everything that happens unhappens,…” 

 

Bewitched Rating

 

Bottom Line

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson is a moving story about love, loss and an incredible moving bond between twins, that were once so close and now need to find their way to find the other half again. The writing is lyrical and beautiful and the way the story#s been told so unique and brilliant. I’ll Give You the Sun is a must read this year!

 

 contemporary 

Danny_Signature_muchloveI
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Divider

4 Responses to “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge