The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox

Posted 27 August, 2012 by Danny in Blog, Danny, Danny's Book Review / 26 Comments

The Dead Girls Detective Agency

Genre: YA, Paranormal, Mystery
Expected publication: September 18th 2012 by HarperTeen
Copy from Publisher
Get your own: amazon | BookDepository
Rating:
The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox title and author  on goodreads

When Charlotte comes to after being pushed onto the subway tracks, she is informed by a group of teenage girls that she is dead…they all are. Meet the Dead Girls Detective Agency. With the support of these dynamic girls—including fashionable Lorna, who can’t wait to find out if the devil actually wears Prada, and nerdy Nancy, who insists on staying in limbo to help out other girls—Charlotte follows leads and tracks down clues to solve her own murder. With plenty of juicy mysteries and some pretty cute guys, readers are sure to fall in love with this fun and suspenseful page-turner!

Fans of Meg Cabot, Sara Shepard, and Ally Carter will delight in this exciting new paperback original.

 

Although I’m repeating myself. I am not a big fan of Ghost Stories, however this synopsis totally grabbed me and I was eager to dig into this mystery/ghost story… and I wasn’t disappointed!

 

Charlotte – suddenly dead. But how?!

It was easy to get hooked right from the start. Charlotte’s voice was light and had the perfect amount of humor to make me smile despite the fact that she just died! Truly, Charlotte was a great main character I loved her witty personality and her eagerness to make the best out of her new situation.
One might think that the story holds a touch of sadness, since we begin with Charlotte dying! But, this is not the case and made me even like the story so much more. It’s definitely not an issue book, and rather a fun, light story of a girl finding her murderer, dealing with an (ex-) boyfriend and new mysterious boy and the her new (also dead) friends.

Flashed out secondary characters and a cute concept!

Imagine a (not to be seen) hotel full of teenage girls, all ghosts and all trying to uncover the truth behind the latest murderer. Each of the girls from the agency had their own distinct character and together they had everything from bouncy, cute, eager and .. too eager! Seeing those different girls forming a bond over the common dead/ghost status was cute and added to the overall enjoyment of the story!

Suspenseful! Murder! Mystery! A cheating Boyfriend and a new hotness on the horizon…

The story itself was absolutely great and there was never a moment of boredom! From finding Charlotte’s murders to learning what a Ghost can do, do Charlotte’s ex-boyfriends, the story was resourceful and diversified! Then there is Ed – the only boy among the girls and he’s mysterious and it’s hard to get is personality and agenda. This is also the only complain I have – I would have loved to get deeper into his personality but I am sure this is yet to come in the upcoming sequel.
Also, the latest twist was nice but could have been flashed out a little more!

Bewitched Rating

 

Bottom Line

Cute, Entertaining, Fun and a suspenseful mystery filled with great Characters and a starring genuine heroine makes this book to a cute page-turner. The Dead Girls Agency is an awesome kick off into a new series that will get a place on my reading pile when I’m looking for a light and fun distraction!

 

  

Additional Info

For once I couldn’t find any information about the Author, although I would like to follow her on twitter… so I apologize for my lack of “additional” info this time!
Much Love,
Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider

26 Responses to “The Dead Girls Detective Agency by Suzy Cox”

  1. Oh my gosh – how had I not heard of this one before now? This one sounds delightful and your review has completely sold me. I especially love that you say it was easy to get hooked from the beginning, as that it exactly what I need these days 🙂
    Erica recently posted..In My Mailbox (165)My Profile

  2. Light and fun you say Danny? That’s exactly what I’m in the mood for! I’ve been reading a lot of darker books lately and could use something that’s just pure entertainment. Sounds like this is perfect for that! *adds to list*

  3. This sounds like a good, light read to use as filler when you are in a bit of a slump. Great review Danny! This one has been catching my eye for a while, and now I think I will keep it around for when I’m in the mood for something like it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge