Waiting on Wednesday {64} – Without a Summer by Mary Robinette Kowal

Posted 11 July, 2012 by Pushy in Heather, Meme, Pushy / 21 Comments

“Waiting on” Wednesday is hosted weekly by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

 

 

Without A Summer

Book 3 in the Shades of Milk and Honey series

Genre: Historical Fantasy
Expected Publication: April 2nd 2013 by Tor Books
Pre-order Amazon (hardcover) | Book Depository | Indiebound

UPDATE!

A revised version of the book synopsis was provided by the author and has been updated below.
Thank you so much, Mary!!!!!!!

The magical book that might result if Jane Austen’s Emma were set against the Luddite uprising in the Year Without a Summer

Up-and-coming fantasist Mary Robinette Kowal enchanted fans with award-winning short stories and beloved novels featuring Regency pair Jane and Vincent Ellsworth. In Without a Summer the master glamourists return home, but in a world where magic is real, nothing—even the domestic sphere—is quite what it seems.

Jane and Vincent go to Long Parkmeade to spend time with Jane’s family, but quickly turn restless. The year is unseasonably cold. No one wants to be outside and Mr. Ellsworth is concerned by the harvest, since a bad one may imperil Melody’s dowry. And Melody has concerns of her own, given the inadequate selection of eligible bachelors. When Jane and Vincent receive a commission from a prominent family in London, they decide to take it, and take Melody with them. They hope the change of scenery will do her good and her marriage prospects—and mood—will be brighter in London.

Once there, talk is of nothing but the crop failures caused by the cold and increased unemployment of the coldmongers, which have provoked riots in several cities to the north. With each passing day, it’s more difficult to avoid getting embroiled in the intrigue, none of which really helps Melody’s chances for romance. It’s not long before Jane and Vincent realize that in addition to getting Melody to the church on time, they must take on one small task: solving a crisis of international proportions.

Pushy: Okay, so my first thought here was, “OMFG I’m going to EAT that cover it’s so flipping gorgeous!!!!” Followed quickly by, “Why does Mary Robinette Kowal hate me? That’s ALL I’m going to get from the synopsis?!?!?!” *gives folks at Tor who are killing me with the minimalism here the ENORMOUS STINKY EYE* <– Note, see here for the original, brief synopsis.

Heather and I have reviewed and loved both of the previous books, Shades of Milk and Honey and Glamour in Glass. We are total fans of Ms. Kowal’s characters and her world, so this was an instant buy for both of us, but truly…is it too much to ask for a bit more info on what we can expect?!?

And yes, we went to the link above and it’s information on Mary’s website about her sale of the last two book in this series, which is awesome news but still doesn’t tell us what we can expect in this next book.

*Pushy turns to the folks at Tor*So…my favorite folks in the whole wide world….do you think you could possibly, perhaps, maybe flesh that out for us?

PLEASE?????
*gives pleading, puppy dog eyes*

Regardless, we cannot wait to read this book!

So, tell us about your WoW

Now go and get lost…in a book!

!

 

Lover of words and authors; absolute fan girl of books! Give me a good story, with characters I can love (and hate) and I’ll follow you anywhere. Sing me a song of worlds I can dream of, and I’ll listen forever.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

21 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday {64} – Without a Summer by Mary Robinette Kowal”

  1. I haven’t read this series, but it sounds interesting. Plus the blurb on the bottom says it’s for fans of Austen and Yolen. Count me in. Great pick!

  2. I believe this is the catalog copy.

    The magical book that might result if Jane Austen’s Emma were set against the Luddite uprising in the Year Without a Summer

    Up-and-coming fantasist Mary Robinette Kowal enchanted fans with award-winning short stories and beloved novels featuring Regency pair Jane and Vincent Ellsworth. In Without a Summer the master glamourists return home, but in a world where magic is real, nothing—even the domestic sphere—is quite what it seems.

    Jane and Vincent go to Long Parkmeade to spend time with Jane’s family, but quickly turn restless. The year is unseasonably cold. No one wants to be outside and Mr. Ellsworth is concerned by the harvest, since a bad one may imperil Melody’s dowry. And Melody has concerns of her own, given the inadequate selection of eligible bachelors. When Jane and Vincent receive a commission from a prominent family in London, they decide to take it, and take Melody with them. They hope the change of scenery will do her good and her marriage prospects—and mood—will be brighter in London.

    Once there, talk is of nothing but the crop failures caused by the cold and increased unemployment of the coldmongers, which have provoked riots in several cities to the north. With each passing day, it’s more difficult to avoid getting embroiled in the intrigue, none of which really helps Melody’s chances for romance. It’s not long before Jane and Vincent realize that in addition to getting Melody to the church on time, they must take on one small task: solving a crisis of international proportions.
    Mary Robinette Kowal (@MaryRobinette) recently posted..Glamour in Glass: Anachronism in diningMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge