In My Mailbox

Posted 12 September, 2010 by Danny in / 13 Comments

Weekly meme from The Story Siren
The idea is to post the Books you got this week, whether you bought them, got them as a gift, from the library or received them to review.

Heather (Call of Duty Widow) details what she received in her mailbox this week.

I am very excited to read the books that I received in the mail this week.

1. The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Since everyone raves about this series, I decided to buy it for a new feature debuting later this month. It’s called “Heather Finally Reads” where I finally get around to reading all of the popular books people have been recommending to me for ages. First up is the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward. Look for the post later this month.

2. Dog Tags by David Rosenfelt – I love this author’s series about a defense lawyer named Andy Carpenter. This is the eighth book in the series and each one is a legal thriller with a lot of humor and at least one dog mixed up together. I preordered this book and I can’t wait to dive into the latest fast paced thriller. Here’s the description from David Rosenfelt’s website for Dog Tags.

A German Shepherd police dog witnesses a murder and if his owner–an Iraq war vet and former cop-turned-thief–is convicted of the crime, the dog could be put down. Few rival Andy Carpenter’s affection for dogs, and he decides to represent the poor canine. As Andy struggles to convince a judge that this dog should be set free, he discovers that the dog and his owner have become involved unwittingly in a case of much greater proportions than the one they’ve been charged with. Andy will have to call upon the unique abilities of this ex-police dog to help solve the crime and prevent a catastrophic event from taking place.

The writing is tight in these books and very entertaining. But what I really love about this author is his work with saving dogs, especially golden retrievers. Check out his website to learn how he’s helped save over 4000 dogs and has lived with up to 20 something dogs at a time. That’s devotion.

3. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – I loved this author’s dark thriller Sharp Objects and it was such a page turner that I didn’t hesitate to order this one when I found out about it. A word of caution about either book: these are definitely not your fluffy good heroine overcomes the odds to win kind of books. The main character in Sharp Objects is a cutter, very flawed and fragile. To quote the author on her website when asked about the main character of Sharp Objects: “And she uses booze, sex, and scissors to get through the day.” From the reviews I’ve seen of Dark Places, which features a main character that witnessed her family’s murder at the tender age of 7 and testified that her brother killed them, this book promises to be just as dark as Sharp Objects. I’m looking forward to reading something other than the paranormal romance and young adult books that have been a staple in my library lately.

4. How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley – This author writes personal essays about her life in New York City and is guaranteed to make you squeal with laughter. Her first book, I Was Told There’d Be Cake, made people give me the evil eye during my train commute because I couldn’t stop laughing out loud. Her books are in the vein of David Sedaris and Jen Lancaster (Two Authors that I love, btw). I plan on reading this after I read Dark Places. I have a feeling I’ll need the pick me up.

Make sure to visit the other participating sites.

What did you get in your mailbox??

Which one is the one you are most excited to read?

Btw: If you love our Buttons, you can grab them but please link back to the Bookworms, that’s all we’re asking…

Obsessive Reader by Night – Scientist at Day!
You can also find me on goodreads. I’d love to get to know you so, don’t be shy and say Hello!

Tags: , , , , ,

Divider

13 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. I too have yet to read The Hunger Games series because with all the other series i'm reading I just haven't gotten around to it lol. Just letting you know you're not alone lol

  2. Oh, good, I'm not the only one left on earth who hasn't gotten around to reading the HG series!! Sometimes it feels like I am, though!! 🙂 That will be a great new feature! I'll be watching for it!

  3. What interesting books! I like your idea for "Heather Finally Reads". I should do that too. My TBR stack is so high and I keep reading from the top instead of digging down to the bottom. I think you just added to it too. That series by Rosenfelt is new to me and sounds great. My mailboxes are here and here. Happy reading!
    My recent post In My Mailbox September 12- 2010

  4. Great meme Idea!
    I was late in Reading THe Hunger Games series, I read the first two the week before Mockingjay released and I read the last book right away. I LOVED it! Not my usual kind of read, but it's insanely good, hope you like it to =)
    I also started the BDB series, only read book 1 so far but liked it ^^

  5. Heather

    Tynga – You are going to love the BDB series and I highly recommend reading the companion book JR Ward has too. It's really interesting to know how she writes these characters (and leaves you thinking she may be slightly insane, LOL). I stopped to read a book here and there during my voyage through this series and found myself rushing those books to get to the next BDB book. I was so dissappointed to see that we have to wait until April 2011 for the next installment. ____

    Kathy – I discovered David Rosenfelt's Andy Carpenter series at the dollar store of all places. These are great books and I'm sure you'll love them. It's nice to read books from a man's POV every now and then!
    ____Susie and Becky – I knew I was in good company with not reading the Hunger Games yet! Be sure to let me know what you think when I review them in the "Heather finally reads" post I do.
    ____Holly – You got "How Did You Get This Number" too? It looks like there are some guaranteed gut-busting laughs in our future. I'll review this book and you'll have to let me know what you think. ____

  6. I also have not read the HG series although I have meant to since Stephenie Meyer wrote about them on her blog a couple of years ago. I can't wait to hear what you think of them. And I'm DEFINITELY looking forward to your thoughts on HDYGTN. I also love David Sedaris (and I SERIOUSLY am reading the Jen Lancaster books which are hysterical), so if it's in that vein, it should be fantastic! Great IMM!!!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge